21 states file lawsuit against Biden over Keystone pipeline cancellation

by Jordyn Pair · Mar 18th, 2021 3:27 pm

Last Updated Mar 19th, 2021 at 9:58 am

Twenty-one states have filed a lawsuit against President Biden over his canceling of the Keystone XL pipeline, alleging that he overstepped his presidential authority.

The attorneys general argue the president exceeded his authority because of a provision in a 2011 tax law that required then-President Barack Obama to approve the pipeline within 60 days or issue a statement saying it was not of national interest. Obama at the time rejected the application, saying that he had not been provided enough time to make the decision, but allowed the company in charge of the pipeline to reapply, deferring the decision to his successor.

"The power to regulate foreign and interstate commerce belongs to Congress — not the President. This is another example of Joe Biden overstepping his constitutional role to the detriment of Montanans," Montana Attorney General Austin Knudsen said. "There is not even a perceived environmental benefit to his actions. His attempt to cancel the Keystone XL Pipeline is an empty virtue signal to his wealthy coastal elite donors. It shows Biden's contempt for rural communities in Montana and other states along the pipeline's path that would benefit from and support the project."

The states suing Biden are Texas, Montana, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming.


There are 19 comments on this article.

You must become a subscriber or login to view or post comments on this article.