AG Barr officially designates 3 Dem-controlled U.S. cities as "anarchist jurisdictions," report says

by Bryan Brammer · Sep 21st, 2020 11:45 am

Last Updated Sep 22nd, 2020 at 5:58 pm

Attorney General William Barr has reportedly designated three Democrat-controlled U.S. cities as "anarchist jurisdictions" that are slotted to lose federal money for failing to prevent rioters from destroying cities and for defunding local law enforcement departments.

New York City, Portland, and Seattle were the three cities on Barr's list, according to the New York Post.

"When state and local leaders impede their own law enforcement officers and agencies from doing their jobs, it endangers innocent citizens who deserve to be protected, including those who are trying to peacefully assemble and protest," Barr said in a statement set to be released Monday. "We cannot allow federal tax dollars to be wasted when the safety of the citizenry hangs in the balance. It is my hope that the cities identified by the Department of Justice today will reverse course and become serious about performing the basic function of government and start protecting their own citizens."

Barr's "anarchist'' designations come after President Trump earlier this month announced financial retribution against cities that have significantly cut police budgets or allowed violent protests to continue unchecked.

"My Administration will not allow Federal tax dollars to fund cities that allow themselves to deteriorate into lawless zones," the president said in a memo. "To ensure that Federal funds are neither unduly wasted nor spent in a manner that directly violates our Government's promise to protect life, liberty, and property, it is imperative that the Federal Government review the use of Federal funds by jurisdictions that permit anarchy, violence, and destruction in America's cities."


There are 23 comments on this article.

You must become a subscriber or login to view or post comments on this article.