European Union leaves U.S. off travel "safe list," prohibits non-essential trips to America

by Laura Mize · Jun 30th, 2020 12:08 pm

Last Updated Jul 1st, 2020 at 12:50 am

The United States is not on the European Union's "safe list" of countries that EU citizens may travel to for non-essential reasons beginning in July, according to the European Council.

The list of 14 safe countries includes Japan, Morocco, South Korea, Montenegro, Albania, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Algeria, Georgia, Uruguay, Serbia, Rwanda, Tunisia, and Thailand. The EU has said it will add China to the list if the communist nation allows EU travelers to enter China.

"We appreciate the transparency and concerted efforts of our European partners and allies to combat this pandemic, and we are committed to coordinating with them as we look forward to reopening our economies and easing restrictions," the U.S. mission to the EU said in a statement before the council decision was formalized.

The list is the initial version and presumably will be updated in the future.


There are 9 comments on this article.

You must become a subscriber or login to view or post comments on this article.