Facebook is allegedly activating users’ cameras while they scroll through app

by Jordyn Pair · Nov 12th, 2019 10:31 am

Last Updated Nov 20th, 2019 at 2:28 pm

Facebook is apparently accessing users’ cameras while they scroll through their feed on the app — without their knowledge.

A Twitter user by the name of Joshua Maddux posted a video to his account highlighting how the camera app comes on in the background of the feed. In the footage, Maddox scrolls through his feed and then moves a photo to the right, revealing an active camera behind the feed.

Maddux said the same thing happened on five different iPhones running iOS 13.2.2, although it did not happen on iOS 12.

Reporters from The Next Web also confirmed the findings, adding that the issue only occurs if the app has been given access to the user’s camera.

Facebook has not yet responded to a request for comment.

🔦 Facebook has come under fire in recent years for privacy concerns.

Read more: Facebook begins rolling out curated news hub


You May Also Like


Bernie Sanders wants to spend $150 billion on "internet for all"

Uber says 3,045 sexual assaults were reported in rides in the U.S. last year

Reddit's number of monthly active users grew 30% in 2019 to top 430M

Smart TVs may be "spying" on users, FBI warns

Google co-founders Larry Page, Sergey Brin relinquish control of Alphabet to CEO Sundar Pichai

T-Mobile's 5G network launches several days ahead of schedule