Trump ad­min. ban­ning im­mi­gra­tion from Nige­ria, Eritrea, Myanmar, Kyrgyzstan

by Jordyn Pair · Jan 31st, 2020 4:02 pm

The Trump administration is banning immigration from Nigeria and three other countries in an expansion of travel bans from 2017.

Under the policy, citizens from Nigeria, Eritrea, Myanmar, and Kyrgyzstan are no longer allowed to apply for visas to immigrate into the U.S. The Trump administration said the policy is meant to increase security for countries that do not comply with the United States' minimum security standards or work to prevent illegal immigration.

Two other countries, Sudan and Tanzania, will also not be allowed to participate in a visa lottery designed to randomly award green cards to 50,000 immigrants from underrepresented countries each year.

The newly-restricted countries will join seven others on a list of countries that had restrictions imposed upon them under President Trump's original travel ban in 2017. Unlike the other countries, however, citizens of the added six countries will be allowed to visit the U.S. for business or pleasure.


You must become a subscriber or login to view or post comments on this article.