Trump announces creation of "National Garden of American Heroes" where dozens of statues will be displayed

by Laura Mize · Jul 4th, 2020 11:46 am

Last Updated Jul 5th, 2020 at 7:00 pm

Following widespread desecration and removal of statues of Christopher Columbus, founding fathers, and military leaders, President Donald Trump announced Friday night the upcoming construction of the "National Garden of American Heroes."

The new outdoor park will feature statues of at least 31 outstanding Americans, according to an executive order signed by Trump and released Friday to the public.

"These statues are silent teachers in solid form of stone and metal," the executive order reads, in part. "They preserve the memory of our American story and stir in us a spirit of responsibility for the chapters yet unwritten. These works of art call forth gratitude for the accomplishments and sacrifices of our exceptional fellow citizens who, despite their flaws, placed their virtues, their talents, and their lives in the service of our Nation."

Trump's executive order specifies that the garden should be open to the public by the 250th anniversary of the proclamation of the Declaration of Independence, which will be July 4, 2026. Also, the order creates the Task Force for Building and Rebuilding Monuments to American Heroes.

The order's list of people to be honored with a statue in the garden include men and women, African Americans and Caucasians, politicians, activists, military leaders, inventors and other cultural icons. The order does not preclude statues of other heroes from display in the park.

The people named in the order, for inclusion in the garden, are:

John Adams, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Daniel Boone, Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, Henry Clay, Davy Crockett, Frederick Douglass, Amelia Earhart, Benjamin Franklin, Billy Graham, Alexander Hamilton, Thomas Jefferson, Martin Luther King, Jr., Abraham Lincoln, Douglas MacArthur, Dolley Madison, James Madison, Christa McAuliffe, Audie Murphy, George S. Patton, Jr., Ronald Reagan, Jackie Robinson, Betsy Ross, Antonin Scalia, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Harriet Tubman, Booker T. Washington, George Washington, and Orville and Wilbur Wright.


There are 42 comments on this article.

You must become a subscriber or login to view or post comments on this article.